Menu Toggle

Fire Fighter of the Year

Each year members of the Fire Department cast a ballot for the Fire Fighter of the Year Award. The candidate must demonstrate an extraordinary commitment to firefighting and the department. This can be evidenced by outstanding actions on the fire ground or at other functions the department is involved in.

Some of the criteria members consider are:

-Extraordinary rescue/and or an attempted rescue at an incident.
-Any contribution that dramatically improves the health and safety of the members of the department.
-Outstanding effort to improve the departments standing and image in the community.
-Assists in mentoring new and junior members.
-Consistently improves upon their skills and outlook through ongoing training.
-Leads by example.

Past recipients of the award:

1992 Terry Senecal
1993 Eric Labrie
1994 Don Padlesky
1995 Remi Joly
1996 Vern Burton
1997 Lyle Hovelkamp
1998 Mitch Delisle
1999 Glenn Andersen
2000 Trevor Kotowich
2001 Lyle Berezanski
2002 Henry Thomson
2003 Tony Fontaine
2004 Michael Kitt
2005 Mitch Delisle
2006 Roger Cartier
2007 Bill Sakaluk
2008 Karl Friske
2009 Ben Burton
2010 Gilles Jean
2011 Rob Duffy
2012 Brad Williams
2013 Paul Jean
2014 Roger Champagne
2015 Dwight Melnyk
2016 James McGonigal
2017 Lyle Hovelkamp
2018 Stephen Buryn
2019 Chris Schuh
2020 Henry Thomson
2021 Paul Kehler 
2022 Chad Bachelet 
2023 David Thomson